Invisible People

I watched the Invisible People Interview with Mike. It would appear to me the interviewer conducts these interviews to raise awareness about homelessness and give people a chance to not only hear what these “invisible people” have to say, but also to learn a little more about their personal story. Each one of these invisible people are unique and have a reason that they’re living on the streets, it isn’t just because they’re lazy or uneducated or addicted to something. Mike said,

“Nobody owes us anything out here dude, nobody put us out here on the streets we put ourselves out here. For one reason or another, maybe some of us like it I mean I like it, I like traveling around. But the point is nobody owes any of us anything.”

Later in the interview Mark stated,

“You can’t starve in America dude, if anybody says they’re starving to death they’re a liar and if anybody says they can’t make it, there’s plenty of generous people in America. But at the same time, there are a lot of ***holes out here too, there are a lot of people who just judge us without even talking to us.”

The interviewer wants to show that these people are just that, people. They are living and breathing and feeling humans with the same capacity to dream and aspire and be good people like everyone else.

“I hit the streets because I was trying to get out of a bad home, a bad area, a bad life…” Mike said, “I left home when I was 14, 15 years old, my dad was an alcoholic and its better being out here. At least out here somebody cared about me, I didn’t have to worry about ‘when’s my dad gonna be home’ and this and that, at least somebody was here for me out here.”

When the interview with Mike started the first thing he talked about was that the bag that had all of his dog’s toys, treats, and other supplies had been stolen. It was very evident Mike was upset about it as he talked about what happened and about his dog in general,

“When it deals with me I don’t care because I mean I can make it, I’m straight. But when people like, look at my dog that’s what hurts.”

Mike stopped talking at this point and there was a brief silence as a tear rolled down his face.

The interviewer seemed very respectful towards his interviewee and although I wouldn’t say he established a relationship per se, he definitely showed compassion and empathy toward Mike’s situation. Mike had a lot to say and the interviewer let him say it. He asked the occasional question, but 99% of the dialogue was Mike. And, when Mike was talking, the interviewer never made him stop or censored him or made him change topics. He definitely asked skewed questions in that they were about homelessness whether it is Mike’s personal situation or Mike’s opinion about it, but given the purpose of the interviewers YouTube channel, that makes complete sense and is in no way a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

